Colombo has an extensive public transport system based on buses operated both by private operators and the government owned Sri Lanka Transport Board (SLTB).

The three primary bus terminals – Bastian Mawatha, Central, and the Gunasinghapura Bus Terminals – are in Pettah.

Bastian Mawatha handles long distance services whereas Gunasinghapura and Central handle local services.